Confession

Info Audio Prev|Next
6x6

“I oversaw a group of six people. Installed at a barrier at the crossroads of two busy routes, we had orders to verify identity cards and to arrest the Tutsis wanting to flee the hills. We also looked at faces. You can tell a Tutsi from his nose which is longer and thinner than that of a Hutu. When we caught one we killed him on the spot.”

Ntare Alexis, former Interahamwe militiaman, arrested on September 12th, 1994 for crime of genocide, freely temporary since May 5th, 2003.

Confession-1
Ntare Alexis
6x6

“I lived with Balthazar, a Tutsi. After the first attack on the mountain where we were hiding, Balthazar asked me to leave in order to save our three children. After two days of walking, we managed to reach the house of my family. The next day, they told us that they didn’t want Tutsi children in their home and drove us out. We stayed hidden near the house for three days. It rained and we were hungry. Then, I decided to commit suicide with my children. I threw them into the river and just as I was about to join them my younger brother stopped me. He said : “Why kill yourself ? You’ve just solved your problem with the Tutsis.””

Ayinkamiye Colette, farmer, arrested on May 9th, 2000 for crime of genocide, imprisoned to the central prison of Gisovu, awaiting trial.

Confession-2
Ayinkamiye Colette
6x6

“People had become animals. Since the beginning of the massacres everyone thought only of killing.”

Dwamengeri Idelphonse, farmer, arrested on December 12th, 1996 for crime of genocide, freely temporary since May 5th, 2003.

Confession-3
Dwamengeri Idelphonse
6x6

“We discovered two Tutsis hiding. It was me and my husbands’ second wife who denounced them. At least twenty people showed up. They took the Tutsis down to the river and killed them with hoes. They were very satisfied. Everyone from the surrounding hills came to the river to see how the Tutsis would be killed.”

Mujawamaliya Sylvanie, farmer, arrested on March 22nd, 2000 for crime of genocide, imprisoned to the central prison of Gitarama, awaiting trial.

Confession-4
Mujawamaliya Sylvanie
6x6

“My sister Anastasia brought her three Tutsi grandchildren to my house. They stayed a week, hidden under my bed. One Sunday, it was raining, and a local inspector sought shelter in my home. He surprised Anastasia who was bringing food back to the house. He asked her who the food was for, and he then tried to force open the door to my room at which point I told him everything. The next Tuesday, the Interahamwe militia showed up at my door and led us out to the yard. They killed the children with their clubs. It was me who buried them behind the enclosure. Anastasia accuses me of killing her grandchildren. But, from where she was standing, she could plainly see that it wasn’t me.”

Nyiramparaye Nayeme, farmer, arrested on April 3rd, 1995 for crime of genocide, imprisoned to the central prison of Gisovu, awaiting trial.

Confession-5
Nyiramparaye Nayemé
6x6

“ I confess I killed Beatrice Uzabiriza around 5pm, on April 17, 1994. She tried to escape by jumping into the Nyabarongo river. I caught her and brought her to the riverbank where I decapitated her with my machete.”

Harindintwari François-Xavier, farmer, arrested on July 17th, 1995 for crime of genocide, freely temporary since May 5th, 2003.

Confession-6
Harindintwari François-Xavier
6x6

“I did not have time to think of breaking. I did not have time to return in myself to think that you should not participate in this crime.”

Nitwa Tuyisenqe Faustin, mason, arrested on December 2nd, 1996 for crime of genocide, freely temporary since May 5th, 2003.

Confession-7
Nitwa Tuyisenqe Faustin
6x6

“At that time, God is forgotten. We even worked on Sundays.”

Nzarora Manasse, farmer, arrested on July 17th, 1995 for crime of genocide, freely temporary since May 5th, 2003.

Confession-8
Nzarora Manasse
6x6

“We were driven by bad authorities. But we could not break them. If you broke, the authorities came home to take your possessions.”

Ruhamiriza Jean-Baptiste, farmer, arrested on September 4th, 1996 for crime of genocide, freely temporary since May 5th, 2003.

Confession-9
Ruhamiriza Jean-Baptiste
6x6

“When I went into the house one of the children kissed me and said: “Instead of being killed by someone else, kill me yourself because I know you.” I took the child in my my arms and went outside to the yard. A colleague, who had a machete, took the child and killed it.”

Ruzirabwoba Alfred, farmer, arrested on September 8th, 1994 for crime of genocide, imprisoned to the central prison of Gitarama, awaiting trial.

Confession-10
Ruzirabwoba Alfred
6x6

“The two children were hiding amongst the banana trees near my home. When Claver found them he was quite pleased with himself. He said : “Come and have a look. I’ve caught two little cockroaches.” I killed them with a club. For the first one I hit him three times; the second one was smaller so I only had to hit him twice. Killing Tutsis was a popular thing to do, so killing those kids did’nt mean anything to me.”

Ndangamira François, mason, arrested on February 10th, 1996 for crime of genocide, freely temporary since May 5th, 2003.

Confession-11
Ndangamira François

L’Aveu

Info Audio Prev|Next
6x6

« Je dirigeais un groupe de six personnes. Installés à une barrière au croisement de deux routes très fréquentées, nous avions pour ordre de contrôler les cartes d’identité et d’arrêter les Tutsi qui fuyaient des collines. On regardait aussi les visages. Un Tutsi se reconnaît surtout à son nez, qui est plus long et plus fin que celui d’un Hutu. Quand on en attrapait un, on le tuait sur le champ.  »

Ntare Alexis, ancien milicien Interahamwe, arrêté le 12 septembre 1994 pour crime de génocide, en liberté provisoire depuis le 5 mai 2003.

L'Aveu-1
Ntare Alexis
6x6

« Je vivais avec Balthazar, un Tutsi. Après une première attaque sur la montagne où nous étions cachés, Balthazar m’a demandé de partir pour sauver nos trois enfants. Après deux jours de marche, nous avons réussi à atteindre la maison de ma famille. Le lendemain, ils m’ont dit qu’ils ne voulaient pas d’enfants tutsi chez eux et ils nous ont chassés. Nous sommes restés cachés près de la maison pendant trois jours. Il y avait la pluie, il y avait la faim. Alors, j’ai décidé de me suicider avec mes enfants. Je les ai jetés dans la rivière. Au moment où j’allais me suicider, mon frère cadet m’a retenu. Il m’a dit : “Pourquoi te suicider, tu as réglé ton problème avec les Tutsi.” »

Ayinkamiye Colette, cultivatrice, arrêtée le 9 mai 2000 pour crime de génocide, emprisonnée à la prison centrale de Gisovu, en attente de jugement.

L'Aveu-2
Ayinkamiye Colette
6x6

« Les gens étaient devenus comme des animaux. Depuis le début des massacres, tout le monde ne pensait plus qu’à tuer. »

Dwamengeri Idelphonse, cultivateur, arrêté le 12 décembre 1996 pour crime de génocide, en liberté provisoire depuis le 5 mai 2003.

L'Aveu-3
Dwamengeri Idelphonse
6x6

« On est tombé sur deux Tutsi qui se cachaient. C’est moi et la deuxième femme de mon mari qui les avons dénoncés. Plus de vingt personnes sont arrivées. Ils ont attrapé les Tutsi et ils les ont amenés à la rivière. Ils les ont tués à coup de houe. Ils étaient très contents. Tous les gens des collines étaient venus à la rivière pour voir comment on allait les tuer. »

Mujawamaliya Sylvanie, cultivatrice, arrêtée le 22 mars 2000 pour crime de génocide, emprisonnée à la prison centrale de Gitarama, en attente de jugement.

L'Aveu-4
Mujawamaliya Sylvanie
6x6

« Ma sœur Anastasie a amené ses trois petits-enfants tutsi chez moi. Ils sont restés une semaine, cachés sous mon lit. Un dimanche, il pleuvait et le responsable de secteur est venu s’abriter chez moi. Il a surpris Anastasie qui apportait des provisions. Il a demandé à qui elles étaient destinées. Il a ensuite essayé de forcer la porte de ma chambre, et je lui ai tout dit. Le mardi suivant, les miliciens Interahamwe sont venus, ils nous ont tous fait sortir dans la cour. Ils ont tué les enfants à coup de massue. C’est moi qui les ai enterrés derrière l’enclos. Anastasie m’accuse d’avoir tué ses petits-enfants. De là où elle était, elle pouvait pourtant voir la scène. »

Nyiramparaye Nayemé, cultivatrice, arrêtée le 3 avril 1995 pour crime de génocide, emprisonnée à la prison centrale de Gisovu, en attente de jugement.

L'Aveu-5
Nyiramparaye Nayemé
6x6

« J’avoue avoir tué Béatrice Uzabiriza le 17 avril 1994, vers 17 heures. Elle a essayé de s’échapper en se jetant dans la rivière Nyabarongo. Je l’ai rattrapée et je l’ai ramené sur la rive où je l’ai décapitée à coup de machette  »

Harindintwari François-Xavier, cultivateur, arrêté le 17 juillet 1995 pour crime de génocide, en liberté provisoire depuis le 5 mai 2003.

L'Aveu-6
Harindintwari François-Xavier
6x6

« Je n’ai pas eu le temps de penser à désobéir. Je n’ai pas eu le temps de rentrer en moi-même pour penser qu’il ne fallait pas participer à ce crime. »

Nitwa Tuyisenqe Faustin, maçon, arrêté le 2 décembre 1996 pour crime de génocide, en liberté provisoire depuis le 5 mai 2003.

L'Aveu-7
Nitwa Tuyisenqe Faustin
6x6

« À ce moment-là, on ne connaissait plus Dieu. On travaillait même le dimanche. »

Nzarora Manasse, cultivateur, arrêté le 17 juillet 1995 pour crime de génocide, en liberté provisoire depuis le 5 mai 2003.

L'Aveu-8
Nzarora Manasse
6x6

« Nous avons été conduits par de mauvaises autorités. Mais on ne pouvait pas leur désobéir. Si tu désobéissais, les autorités venaient chez toi prendre tes biens. »

Ruhamiriza Jean-Baptiste, cultivateur, arrêté le 4 septembre 1996, pour crime de génocide, en liberté provisoire depuis le 5 mai 2003.

L'Aveu-9
Ruhamiriza Jean-Baptiste
6x6

« Quand je suis rentré dans la maison, un des enfants est venu m’embrasser et il m’a dit : “Au lieu d’être tué par les autres, tue-moi toi parce que je te connais.” J’ai pris l’enfant dans mes bras et je suis sorti dans la cour. Un autre collègue qui avait une machette l’a pris et l’a tué. »

Ruzirabwoba Alfred, cultivateur, arrêté le 8 septembre 1994 pour crime de génocide, emprisonné à la prison centrale de Gitarama, en attente de jugement.

L'Aveu-10
Ruzirabwoba Alfred
6x6

« Les deux enfants s’étaient cachés dans une bananeraie à côté de chez moi. Lorsque Claver les a découverts, il a dit, très content de lui : “Venez voir, j’ai attrapé deux petits cafards”. Je les ai tués avec un gourdin. Le premier, je lui ai mis trois coups, le deuxième était plus petit, deux coups ont suffi. Dans le temps, c’était devenu vraiment populaire de tuer les Tutsi. Donc de tuer ces enfants, ça ne m’a rien fait. »

Ndangamira François, maçon, arrêté le 10 février 1996 pour crime de génocide, en liberté provisoire depuis le 5 mai 2003.

L'Aveu-11
Ndangamira François